30 Days of ME! – Day 2


15 Interesting Facts about ME!

1.  I was a miracle baby! I was born to my mom when she was 44.  She had NO IDEA she was pregnant, up until she went into labor.  I had no name, no clothes, no nothing.  Best of all, BECAUSE I was born, my mom found out she had Cervical Cancer.  She was not a fan of doctors!   She did indeed, beat that cancer and live until she was 72! 🙂

 

2.  I am deathly afraid of groups of birds. OR single birds darting about my head!! Thanks Tippi Hedren!

 

3.  I love love love Disneyland and all its “magicalness”!  I go several times a month.  For several reasons, sometimes a combo of many things; people watch, eat, ride the rides, drink, catch up with friends, watch fireworks, take pictures, etc.

 

4.  I suffer from Trichotillomania, which is a form of OCD.  I pull my hair out.  I have done it since the 6th grade.  I wish I could stop. Very frustrating.

 

5.  More times than NOT, I am a major pessimist and skeptic.  Lots of lessons learned has led me to act and react this way.  I try to think otherwise, sometimes.  I admit it is a fault!

 

6.  I love to give gifts.  The look and feeling a person has when getting a “surprise” or gift just makes me shine.  Sometimes, I can’t hold onto surprises because the anticipation drives me nuts!

 

7.  I am starting to believe that I am a clone of my mom! We look exactly alike, same career path, same bad right hip, super gray hair at a young age.  So so many similarities that I share, that my siblings do NOT!

8.  Katy LOVES to eat. I have a food blog, I do reviews on restaurants, I have starting my own Adventures in Food (a la Guy Fieri) and I love to cook.  When my current bff met my mom years ago, she said, “I can’t believe I have found a friend that shares the same love of food as I do! We both get goosebumps over good food!”

 

9.  Since I have gotten my BlackBerry, almost a year ago, I have been obsessive about the indicator light.  This tells you when you have a text, bbm, email, facebook notification, twitter notification, missed call, etc.  Whenever I see that RED light, I have to tend to it right that instant. I could just adjust settings and turn it OFF, but noooooo! Feed the obsession!

 

10. I am a great listener, but sometimes I need to remember to shut my mouth and just LISTEN! Not everyone is asking for my advice, sometimes they just need to vent! I apologize my friends.

 

11. I enjoy a wide variety of music, except country! My taste includes such artists as; Drake, Linkin Park, Wu-Tang Clan, Morrissey, Sublime, Bob Marley, Journey, Phoenix, Floetry, Jay-Z, Snoop, Sade, Wicked Tinkers, old 80’s music, my list could go on and on and on…

 

12. I am a fan of rollercoasters, but NOT a fan of “spin n’ puke” rides.  Nuff said!

 

13. I am good wifey material! The cleaning aspect needs help, but all other aspects, I am golden.

 

14. Left Handers ROCK! Growing up the child of a teacher, all my work had to be done neatly.  Kind of tricky for a lefty like myself.  Some of us hold our pencils funny, tweak our papers or mal-adjust our arms.  Not me, I was forces to hold it correctly.  One caveat, as I write, my pinky smears my writing because it drags over what I’ve written.  In high school, I smartened up! I cut a coffee filter to the length of my pinky and wrapped it around.  No more smeary, nasty papers.  All the extra ink went onto the coffee wrapper. ta-dah!!

 

15. Losing my mom to Cancer in 2004 was the hardest thing I have EVER had to deal with! We only had 17 days from prognosis to her passing.  NOT enough time.  All of those days were spent in the hospital.  I hang on to all the fond memories I have of her as I strive to be as strong a woman as she was!!

About slaintelbc

not your average white chick...

Posted on October 19, 2010, in 30 Days of ME, Disneyland, me, mom, music, trichotillomania and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

